Arctic Wolf vs Rapid7 MDR: The 2026 SMB Buyer's Comparison
Arctic Wolf vs Rapid7 MDR compared on pricing, coverage, SLAs and total cost of ownership, including why Rapid7's 500-asset minimum matters for SMBs.
Long Nguyen
Développeur fullstack · Ingénieur IA · Chercheur
Arctic Wolf vs Rapid7 MDR: The Core Difference
Both companies sell Managed Detection and Response (MDR): a 24/7 human-staffed service that watches your endpoints, network and cloud for attacks and responds on your behalf. The split between them is architectural, not just a feature checklist.
Arctic Wolf runs a pure-play, technology-agnostic model. It layers its Concierge Security Team and Aurora platform on top of whatever EDR, firewall, or cloud tools you already own, connecting through 200+ integrations rather than forcing you onto a proprietary agent. Rapid7 runs a platform-native model: its MDR service is built around its own Insight Agent and the Command Platform (InsightIDR), and it expects that agent deployed across the large majority of your assets.
That one decision, agnostic overlay versus single-vendor stack, is what drives almost every other difference below: pricing floor, minimum deal size, data access, and how painful switching is later.
| Factor | Arctic Wolf MDR | Rapid7 MDR |
|---|---|---|
| Business model | Pure-play MDR, technology-agnostic | Platform vendor, platform-native |
| Required agent | None (works with your existing EDR/tools) | Rapid7 Insight Agent on 80%+ of assets |
| Minimum deployment | No published minimum | 500-asset minimum |
| Disclosed response SLA | ≤1 hour | Not publicly disclosed |
| Customer data access | Dashboard/portal, no raw query access | Full SIEM query access via InsightIDR (13-month retention) |
| Breach warranty | Up to $3M | Included on top-tier plan only |
Arctic Wolf vs Rapid7 MDR Pricing
Neither vendor publishes a public price list, which is normal for enterprise security services sold through a sales cycle. But enough deal data has leaked out through marketplace listings and buyer reporting to give a realistic picture, not a vendor-approved one.
| Arctic Wolf MDR | Rapid7 MDR | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry-level listing | ~$44,000/year for up to 100 users (AWS Marketplace "MDR Basic", 12-month term) | Third-party estimate starting around $17/asset/month |
| Typical annual deal | Roughly $24K–$320K/year, median around $80K–$96K, based on aggregated buyer transaction data | ~$60K–$80K/year for mid-market, $150K+/year at enterprise scale |
| Per-endpoint benchmark | ~$12–18/month at 100–500 endpoints, ~$8–14/month above 1,000 | Not separately published at endpoint level |
| Hard floor | None published | 500-asset minimum regardless of actual headcount |
Treat every number above as a planning range, not a quote. Deal size scales with the number of assets covered, which attack surfaces you add beyond the base package (cloud and SaaS are commonly billed as add-ons, see the coverage table below), and how much you negotiate on a multi-year term.
Arctic Wolf vs Rapid7 MDR for Small Business
This is where the architectural split becomes a hard eligibility question rather than a preference. Rapid7 requires its Insight Agent on at least 80% of covered assets, with a 500-asset minimum on the contract. If your whole environment is under 500 endpoints, servers and cloud instances combined, you're either paying for headroom you won't use or you're not a realistic fit for Rapid7 MDR at standard commercial terms.
Arctic Wolf has no published seat or asset minimum, and because it plugs into tools you already run, a small IT team doesn't have to rip out and replace an existing EDR to onboard. That's the practical reason Arctic Wolf shows up so often in SMB and lower mid-market shortlists: a company with one or two security-adjacent staff (or none at all) gets a named Concierge Security Team without a stack migration project first.
The trade-off SMB buyers should weigh against that convenience: Arctic Wolf's customer-facing portal gives dashboard access, not raw query access to the underlying telemetry. If your team ever wants to run its own investigation queries against the detection data, that capability sits with Rapid7's InsightIDR, not Arctic Wolf's portal.
Arctic Wolf vs Rapid7 MDR for MSPs
MSPs evaluating either service are really evaluating the agent question at fleet scale. Arctic Wolf's technology-agnostic approach means an MSP can onboard a new client's existing EDR, firewall logs and cloud connectors without standardizing every client on one agent first, which matters when a book of clients arrives with five different endpoint tools already installed.
Rapid7's model asks for the opposite: broad deployment of its own Insight Agent across the managed fleet. That's a stronger fit for an MSP willing to standardize its client base on Rapid7's stack in exchange for the deeper technology access (custom playbooks, SOAR automation, direct SIEM query) that comes with owning the agent layer. It's a heavier lift for an MSP that needs to stay agnostic across mixed client environments.
Neither vendor's public MSP/partner program terms were verifiable at the level of detail needed to compare margin structure or co-managed tiers here, so confirm those specifics directly with each vendor's partner team before committing a client book to either platform.
Arctic Wolf vs Rapid7 MDR Detection Rates and Response Speed
Buyers searching for "detection rates" are usually looking for a head-to-head accuracy score. That number doesn't publicly exist for these two as MDR services: independent evaluations like MITRE ATT&CK Evaluations benchmark EDR/XDR products under controlled conditions, not the human-plus-process layer that defines a managed MDR contract. Any specific detection-rate percentage you see quoted for either vendor's MDR service is marketing copy, not an independently reproducible benchmark, so treat it accordingly.
What you can compare, and what actually predicts how a real incident plays out, is response capability:
| Arctic Wolf MDR | Rapid7 MDR | |
|---|---|---|
| Disclosed response SLA | ≤1 hour | Not publicly disclosed |
| Autonomous response actions | 3: endpoint isolation, network containment, account disable | 6: endpoint isolation, process termination, network containment, account disable, file quarantine, custom playbooks |
| Active remediation on your endpoints | Advises your team; executes containment only, via partner integrations | Executes directly via Velociraptor-powered Active Response (added April 2025) |
| Underlying platform | Aurora platform + Concierge Security Team | Command Platform / InsightIDR + Insight Agent |
The practical read: Rapid7 built more autonomous, hands-on-keyboard actions into the base MDR service, which fits a security team that wants the vendor to actually touch the endpoint during an incident rather than just recommend the next step. Arctic Wolf leans on its Concierge Security Team to guide your team through remediation, with direct containment actions limited to isolation, network containment and account disable.
Arctic Wolf vs Rapid7 MDR Total Cost of Ownership
The sticker price on either service is rarely the number you actually pay over a contract term. Three line items consistently move total cost of ownership for each vendor:
- Arctic Wolf – add-on attack surfaces. Cloud workload and SaaS coverage sit outside the base package as add-ons; a business that starts with endpoint-and-network coverage and later adds cloud/SaaS monitoring should expect the invoice to grow accordingly.
- Arctic Wolf – contract mechanics. A G2 reviewer reported a 60-day cancellation notice window, longer than the more common 30-day term, meaning services auto-renew if you miss it. Annual price escalation clauses in the 3–7% range are also standard and compound across a multi-year term, so lock expansion pricing at signature rather than accepting then-current list price on seat adds.
- Rapid7 – the 500-asset floor. Because the minimum is fixed at 500 assets regardless of your actual footprint, an organization with 200 endpoints still gets billed against the 500-asset floor if it signs anyway, which is the single biggest TCO risk for a smaller buyer who negotiates around the stated minimum.
- Rapid7 – tiered breach response. Unlimited DFIR (digital forensics and incident response) and the breach warranty are gated behind Rapid7's top "Ultimate" tier, so a buyer on a lower tier should budget separately for incident response costs during an actual breach.
Ask both vendors for these four numbers in writing before signing: the renewal-cancellation notice period, the annual escalation percentage, which attack surfaces are add-ons versus included, and which support/response tier includes breach response coverage.
Which Is Better for a 50-Endpoint Environment?
Run the numbers for a concrete case: a 50-person company with roughly 50–60 managed endpoints and no in-house SOC.
Rapid7 is effectively off the table at standard commercial terms. Its 500-asset minimum means this company would be paying for at least 8–9x the assets it actually has, unless a rep is willing to negotiate a non-standard exception, which is uncommon for MDR contracts of this size.
Arctic Wolf is the realistic option, but don't assume simple per-endpoint math sets the real invoice. At the reported $12–18/endpoint/month benchmark, 50 endpoints alone would suggest roughly $7,200–$10,800/year, yet the AWS Marketplace "MDR Basic" listing prices out at $44,000/year for up to 100 users, closer to $440–$880/user/year once base platform, onboarding and Concierge Security Team overhead are folded in. A 50-endpoint buyer should request a quote scoped to their exact environment rather than budgeting off either number in isolation, and should ask specifically whether cloud and SaaS coverage (which most 50-person companies now rely on for email and file storage) are included or billed as add-ons.
Which Should You Choose in 2026?
| Choose Arctic Wolf if… | Choose Rapid7 if… |
|---|---|
| You're a mid-market or SMB org without a dedicated SOC and want a named, consistent security team rather than a shared analyst pool | You have 500+ assets and want the option to run your own queries against detection data via full SIEM access |
| You already run EDR, firewall and cloud tools you don't want to replace | You're comfortable standardizing on Rapid7's Insight Agent across your fleet |
| You value a large breach warranty and predictable, compliance-aligned reporting | You want the vendor to actively execute remediation (process termination, file quarantine, custom playbooks) rather than advise-only |
| You want to avoid a proprietary-agent migration project during onboarding | You need cloud, SaaS, network and identity coverage included in the base price rather than billed as add-ons |
Neither vendor is objectively "better" across the board in 2026; they're built for different buyers. The fastest way to know which one fits is to map your actual asset count against Rapid7's 500-asset floor first, since that alone disqualifies one option for a large share of SMB buyers, then compare the remaining candidate's contract terms (escalation clauses, add-on surfaces, cancellation notice) against the total cost of ownership section above before signing anything.
If evaluating security vendors is only one piece of a broader technology cleanup and you also need engineering help elsewhere, from making sure your own site is configured correctly for both visitors and AI crawlers to general infrastructure work, Netalith offers a free, no-cost consultation to point you in the right direction.
FAQ
Questions fréquentes
What is the main difference between Arctic Wolf and Rapid7 MDR?
Arctic Wolf is a technology-agnostic MDR overlay that works with the EDR, firewall and cloud tools you already own. Rapid7 is a platform-native MDR built around its own Insight Agent, which it requires on at least 80% of covered assets.
Which is cheaper, Arctic Wolf or Rapid7 MDR?
It depends on your size. Below roughly 500 assets, Arctic Wolf is usually the only realistic option since Rapid7 enforces a 500-asset minimum. Above that threshold, reported deal sizes overlap heavily (both commonly land in the $60K-$150K+/year range), so the real cost driver becomes which attack surfaces are included versus billed as add-ons.
Can a business with fewer than 500 endpoints use Rapid7 MDR?
Not at standard commercial terms. Rapid7 enforces a 500-asset minimum and requires its Insight Agent on at least 80% of covered assets, so smaller organizations are typically better served by Arctic Wolf, which has no published minimum.
Does either service include incident response in the base price?
Rapid7 builds remediation actions like process termination and file quarantine into its base MDR service, but unlimited DFIR and its breach warranty are reserved for its top-tier plan. Arctic Wolf advises on remediation and executes basic containment (isolation, network containment, account disable), with a breach warranty of up to $3M.
Which is better for MSPs managing multiple client environments?
Arctic Wolf's technology-agnostic model generally fits MSPs with mixed-vendor client stacks better, since it doesn't require standardizing every client on one proprietary agent. Rapid7 fits an MSP willing to deploy its Insight Agent broadly in exchange for deeper technology access and built-in active remediation.
What should I ask on the sales call before signing with either vendor?
Get four things in writing: the renewal-cancellation notice period, the annual price escalation percentage, which attack surfaces (cloud, SaaS, identity) are included versus billed as add-ons, and which support tier actually includes breach response or DFIR coverage.